|
Complete Alphabetical List Of Online Resources
| A |
B |
C |
D |
E |
F |
G |
H |
I |
J |
K |
L |
M |
N |
O |
P |
Q |
R |
S |
T |
U |
V |
W |
X |
Y |
Z |
A
Academic OneFile -- One-stop source for millions of peer-reviewed, scholarly
full-text articles in HTML and PDF formats from over 8,000 of the world's leading
academic journals and reference sources. Comprehensively covers the physical
sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature
and other subjects. Multimedia feature includes podcasts and transcripts from
NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content to 1995.
AccessScience -- Features fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition organized to give fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology. Includes over online articles, definitions, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies, biographies of well-known scientists, and continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos.
America's
Newspapers -- Electronic editions for over 654 local,
regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search
database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional
news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural
activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Ancestry
Library -- Genealogical research service includes 2,500
subscription and free databases containing millions of family names.
Full-text records and indexes, digitized images of census records,
periodical indexes, Social Security death index, obituaries, vital
records, public records, and Ancestry World Tree. Available
only at library locations.
Animal Sciences --
This resource explores the wide-ranging diversity that exists within the animal
kingdom. Entries examine how animals develop, animal ecology and behavior,
and the connection between animals and humans. Also includes biographies of
key scientists who have contributed to the study of animal life, as well as
career opportunities within the field.
Auto
Repair Reference Center -- Complete automotive repair
information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported
vehicles from 1954 to present. New repair procedures and updates
added continuously.
B
Biography
& Genealogy Master Index -- Current, readily available
reference sources, for individuals, both living and deceased, from
every field of activity and all areas of the world. Quickly determines
which publication to consult for biographical information. Total
biographical sketches indexed exceeds 12.7 million. Available
only at library locations.
Biography
Resource Center + The Complete Marquis Who's Who --
Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth
and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or
combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search. With
the Complete Marquis Who's Who, find quick reference information
on an additional 900,000 people.
Biology --
A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of biological science,
including its history and issues. Includes articles on biology-related careers
and important individuals, as well as topics from active transport to zoology
research. Amply illustrated with full-color photos and line drawings. Glossary
illuminates scientific terms.
Books & Authors --
For librarians and readers of all ages Comprehensive reference database for locating
reviews of books, periodicals, books-on-tape and electronic media.
Book
Index with Reviews -- Easily locate information on
over 3.8 million book titles including large print & books on
tape. Fiction and non-fiction titles in all genres. Full text searchable
reviews from Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers
Weekly, CHOICE, and others.
Book
Review Index Online Plus - Book Review Index Online Plus includes more
than 5 million review citations and more than 634,000 full-text reviews from
InfoTrac OneFile and InfoTrac Expanded Academic, as well as full text via
links to library holdings. Reviews cover books in a wide variety of disciplines,
including literature, history, education, psychology, and more.
BooksInPrint.com™
Professional -- Largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic
resource in the U.S. Browse over 5 million book, audio book, and
video titles. Bestsellers, award winners, read reviews, or search
titles by your favorite author. Available only at library locations.
Business
& Company Resource Center --
Academic and general business, industry & management periodicals,
newsletters, newspapers and newswires. Investment research reports,
company directory listings.
C
Chilton Library -- Chilton Library represents the most authoritative automotive
repair information available to car owners. There are thousands
of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles
of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.
Chilton Library gives you the confidence to service or repair
virtually any system on your vehicle.
Contemporary
Fashion -- Provides students and scholars with useful
information on more than 400 fashion leaders from the 1940s to
today.
CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition
-- Includes approximately 3300 primary source documents covering the most significant events of the years since 1972. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive, 1923-present
-- Over 3,600 in-depth, themed reports that analyze issues that have shaped the modern world, including reportage of current events placed within historical context. Search full text of the reports, limit searches by date and topic, and use Issue Tracker to trace important changes in issues over time.
CultureGrams
-- Easy to use website with answers to all those questions about
a country’s geography, history, peoples, customs, lifestyles,
and society. In-depth profiles of countries and territories worldwide.
Create comparison tables for multiple countries. Browse the Photo
Gallery or Recipe Collection for that added touch of local flavor.
Find essential facts on the 50 U.S. States, including maps, mottoes,
and flags. And much more.
Custom
Newspapers -- Full-text articles from over 100 newspapers including USA Today, Atlanta Journal-Constitution,
and papers from 40+ other domestic cities
and over 60 other papers from around the world.
D
D
& B Million Dollar Database -- The Million Dollar
Database provides the information professional, marketer and sales
executive with information on U.S. and Canadian
leading public and private businesses located in South Carolina. Company information includes
industry information with up to 24 individual 8-digit SICs, size
criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal
executives and biographies.
Dictionary of American History --
This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested
in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar
to the obscure.
E
Educator’s
Reference Complete- Educator’s Reference Complete, with more than 1,100
periodicals and 200 reports (primarily full-text), covers multiple levels of
education from preschool to college and every educational specialty, such as
technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration,
funding and policy. The majority of the database’s titles include those also
covered in the ERIC database.
Encyclopedia
Americana -- Articles, web links, current events journals.
Includes American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Roget's
II: The New Thesaurus, and American Heritage English to Spanish
Dictionary.
Expanded
Academic ASAP 1980 to current --
Arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology. Access
scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full
text and images!
F
Facts On File World News Digest -- A weekly-updated database with full content of top news stories from 1940 to the present that provides information about important events, people, issues, facts, and figures. For even more current data, World News Digest includes an hourly-updated, live newsfeed from Reuters® with a two-week archive. Additional features include maps, photographs, historic documents, editorial cartoons, and special overviews and timelines of key issues, newsmakers, and events since 1940.
Fiction Connection -- Discover titles similar to books you already enjoy, or explore books by topic, genre, setting, character traits, location, and timeframe.
Footnote.com -- The Footnote.com collections
feature documents relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII,
U.S. Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents. In addition
to hosting millions of records, Footnote.com creates an environment where members
can share their content and insights, ranging from major historical events
to personal accounts and family histories. Available only at library locations.
Foundation Directory Online -- A research tool that includes the latest intelligence on grant makers and their grants for non-profit organizations.
Available only at library locations.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online -- detailed descriptions of more than 6,200 foundations that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individuals. Compiled by the Foundation Center.
Available only at library locations.
G
Gale
Virtual Reference Library -- Gale Virtual Reference
Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference
sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials
once were accessible only in the library, but now you can
access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because
each library creates its own eBook collection, the content
you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries
(your school, your public library, or your office).
General
BusinessFile ASAP 1980 to current -- Information
on companies, markets and industries. Market trends, mergers and
acquisitions, management theory and company overviews. Access business
and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with
full text and images.
General
Reference Center 1980 to current -- General
interest database with an easy-to-use interface. Articles from magazines,
reference books, and newspapers, many with full-text and images.
Current events, popular culture, arts and sciences, sports, hobbies,
and more.
GovSearch
-- GovSearch is a database of government people, programs and places. The service provides contact information and organization charts for federal, state, and municipal government executives and civilian program information. A supplemental database of other government facilities is included.
Available only at library locations.
Granger's
Poetry Database -- Index of poetry found in anthologies
and the collected works of individual poets. Currently has nearly
50,000 poems in full text and more than 400,000 poem citations.
Greenville
News, The (1999-Current) -- Complete full-text content of
local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics,
government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state
industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are
excluded.
Grolier
Multimedia Encyclopedia -- General encyclopedia for
children and adults. Over 36,000 articles, 15,000+ bibliographies,
15,000 web links, tables/maps/flags.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia --
This edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world
as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific
community.
H
Health
Reference Center Academic (1980 to current)
-- Articles
and references on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases,
public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug
abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.
Health
and Wellness Resource Center (1980 to current) -- Magazines,
journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information
on: Alternative health, fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition,
diseases, public and occupationsl health and safety, alcohol and
drug abuse, prescription drugs, etc.
HeritageQuest
Online -- Census data, family records, and local histories.
Every extant U.S. federal census, family genealogies, local histories,
tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage
and death records, genealogical and local history serials, and more.
History
Resource Center: World - History Resource Center: World draws upon themes
and trends from current history curriculums and World History textbooks to
offer students and researchers comprehensive, award-winning reference content,
academic and scholarly journals, as well as thousands of primary sources,
images, and maps. Includes coverage of the 20th century.
History Resource Center (U.S.) -- With comprehensive coverage of more than 50 of the most-studied topics in U.S. history, this database provides access to over 4,000 primary historical documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Historical Statistics of the United States -- The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Includes full access to HTML content and useful site features such as saving searches,
bookmarking content, downloading and graphing tables, and creating custom tables.
J
Junior
Edition -- For middle school students and
their teachers/parents. Articles, pictures, maps, short stories,
quizzes, activities. Materials to help students with research
& writing skills.
K
Kids
InfoBits -- For K-5 students and their teachers/parents. Articles from children's
magazines, pictures, maps, Teacher Toolbox, activities, experiments,
poetry & stories by children.
L
Legal
Forms --
Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal
forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate
contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord
tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney
state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained
in laymen's language.
LegalTrac
(1980 to current) --
Articles from all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law
and bar association journals and legal newspapers. Federal and state
cases, laws and regulations, legal practice, and taxation. British
Commonwealth, European Union and international law also included.
Literature
Resource Center -- Biographies, bibliographies, essays,
full-text titles and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors
from every age and literary discipline. Search 5 literature databases
at once from an easy to use interface: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary
of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twayne's
Authors Series, Scribner Writers Series. Links to the Encyclopedia
of Literature and Gale Literary List.
Literary Reference Center -- Plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, author
biographies and interviews, literary criticism and book reviews, full text of
over 300 literary journals, and more. Detailed information on the most studied
authors. Content from major literary reference works and from Harold Bloom’s
literary criticism series.
Litfinder –
LitFinder highlights a wealth of primary literature content covering all time
periods with more than 126,500 full-text poems, 850,000 poem citations and
excerpts, 5,000 full-text short stories, 2,800 full-text essays, 1,800 full-text
speeches, and 1,000 full-text plays. LitFinder also includes biographies, work
summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Search by keyword, author, subject,
work title, work date, nationality, gender, timeline, and more.
M
MarciveWEB
(1976 - present) -- Catalog of U.S. Government Printing Office documents.
Connects to many full-text documents. Other documents may be available
at Hughes (Main) Library or other federal depository libraries.
Available only at library locations.
Mathematics -- Explores the functions of math in daily life, as well as its role as a tool for measurement, data analysis, and technological development. This illustrated set also explains basic concepts of math and geometry, and provides information on historical milestones, notable mathematicians, and today's career choices. Each volume includes photos, illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, and a glossary. Broadly applicable for middle school through high school students, as well as general readers.
Mitchell's OnDemand5.com -- Find auto repair information and manuals and maintenance and labor estimates. Available
only at library locations.
N
New
Book of Knowledge -- Encyclopedia articles, weblinks,
maps, flags; over 9,000 articles updated weekly; 3,000 web links;
maps & flags.
New
York Times, The -- Complete full text content including
the Book Review and Magazine. Paid
ads are excluded. New additional electronic versions feature exact
digital reproductions of the printed edition, with keyword searching
and ability to browse the full publication. All pages, including
advertising, photos and graphics are included.
Non-fiction
Connection --
Find non-fiction titles based on other non-fiction books you have
already read.
NoveList
-- Find the perfect book to fit your reading tastes! Book recommendations
searchable by Favorite Author, Favorite Title, Series, Keyword,
Plot description and more. Browse fiction award (Booker, Pulitzer,
National Book Award, etc.) and genre lists (Fantasy, Mysteries and
Thrillers, Science Fiction, etc.) Author biographies and feature
articles for in-depth information.
NoveList
K-8 --
Children's fiction divided by age. Search title, author, series
name, topic, plot or unit of study. Includes Award Winners and recommended
Best Fiction. Also contains Teacher Resources.
Nursing
Resource Center -- Nursing Resource Center provides authoritative information
written in accessible language for nursing students completing research papers,
class assignments, and those preparing for their clinical experiences as they
learn how to care for and treat patients. Thorough nursing-specific texts from
Thomson Delmar are complemented by relevant journal results from top publications
in the field and by animated depictions of the human anatomy.
O
OneFile 1980
to current -- source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics:
business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues,
health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science,
social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions
of full-text articles many with images. Updated daily.
Opposing
Viewpoints Resource Center -- Opposing Viewpoints
Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published
by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other
Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete
one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint
articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links
to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
P
p4A
Antiques Reference
-- The p4A Antiques Reference database can be used to evaluate
almost every kind of antique in today’s collections. Antiques
Reference database focuses on the American regional marketplace
and includes the types of material seen locally and regionally
at auction and retail outlets. These antiques are organized into
1,280 different classifications on subjects including furniture,
glass, pottery and porcelain, paintings, prints, and many others.
PatronBooksInPrint.com
-- Comprehensive database of 5 million book, audio book, and video
titles. Create reading lists, search by genre or character, browse
bestsellers, and more.
Plant Sciences -- A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of plant sciences, from forensic botany to genetic engineering, from wheat to kudzu. Includes articles on careers related to plant sciences and important individuals, as well as topics from acid rain to wood products. Amply illustrated with full-color photos and line drawings. A glossary illuminates scientific terms.
R
Read
the Books -- For kids preschool through 8th grade.
Browse books, watch 3-D animated video book reviews, and reserve
books from the Greenville County Library System catalog.
ReferenceUSA
-- Information on millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses, physicians
and dentists, compiled from telephone directories, company annual
reports, federal, state, and municipal government data, trade magazines,
newsletters and major newspapers, legal filings, and other sources.
Search by company name, executive name, city, SIC codes, major industries.
Rosetta
Stone Online Language Learning Center
-- Rosetta Stone’s online language learning center provides everything
you need to start learning a language by electronically reproducing
an immersion experience in the four key areas of language learning:
listening, speaking, reading, writing. Languages available through
our website include Spanish, French, German, Chinese (Mandarin),
and Arabic.
(The Library will no longer be
able to subscribe to this product after the end of May)
S
Science Resource Center - Science Resource Center is an in-depth, curriculum-oriented science
database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research
needs. The database focuses on key concepts and subject areas taught in school
classrooms, including: Earth Science, History of Science, Life Science, Physical
Science, Science and Technology, Science as Inquiry, Space Science, and more.
SCOIS.Net
-- South Carolina Occupational Information System
Essential data on careers, salaries, financial aid, education
and job opportunities, including military, apprenticeships,
post-secondary, trade and vocational programs. Details about
hundreds of occupations, scholarship information for all US
colleges and universities and links to each school. Download
college application forms. Use the Username, Password, and SiteID
from your school, get login info in My
Account or call Reference, 527-9242. Available only
at library locations.
Scribner
Writers Series -- Essays on the lives and works of
1600+ important authors from around the world. Novelists, poets,
playwrights, journalists, critics, short story writers.
SIRS
Discoverer -- Children's database with full-text articles
and photographs on a wide variety of topics. Includes World Almanac
for Kids, Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia.
SIRS
KnowledgeSource -- A combination of databases providing
full-text articles from a wide variety of sources for a diverse
age range of users. Subject areas include the social sciences, government,
sciences, the arts, and others.
Small
Business Resource Center - When starting a new business, entrepreneurs
need all the help they can get. Small Business Resource Center covers all
major areas of starting and operating a business including financing, management,
marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting and taxes. An easy-to-use "How
To" menu tackles the most-frequently asked new business questions, including "How
to start a small business."
Space Sciences-- From the history of space exploration to the future of "space business," this set offers a broad survey of the space sciences. Includes biographies of scientists and the space-related job market.
State, The (December 1987 -
present) -- Full-text
articles archive from The State (Columbia, SC) newspaper including
locally written articles, letters to the editor and major newswire
articles, obituaries (death notice coverage begins March 1994).
Student
Edition (1985 - present) -- For upper middle &
high school students and their teachers/parents. Full-text articles,
magazine indexes, newswire, reference texts, maps, historical
images.
T
Testing
& Education Reference Center -- Taking
a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or
graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database
to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify
scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice
tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.
V
Value
Line Investment Survey, The -- A comprehensive source of information
and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock
market, and the economy. Available
only at library locations.
|